I.Wanna.Travel.The.World

My blog about travel adventures and a lot more.

Lost in Translation: One Day with a Black and White Large Bear Cat?

Since a child, I have always been fascinated by these animals. They are huge and still manage to be so cute, even reaching the adult age. Perfectly shaped black circles around their eyes, black ears and feet. And then the rest is white. Yes, I am talking about Giant Panda.

I remember begging my parents to buy me one. I didn’t want a dog. I wanted a panda. Well, as you can imagine, I never got one.

I had a panda bear stuff toy, though. Those are two completely different things but that was as far as my parents were willing to go.

I remember seeing this amazingly sweet creature (at least for me) for the first time. It was in the Tiergarten Schönbrunn, Vienna. I was standing there and watching with a bated breath.

That being said, I suppose that you can only imagine how excited I was about spending some time in a company of these wonderful animals.

We got up around 7 am, ate our breakfast and headed to the Chengdu Panda Base (or Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda Breeding). We wanted to be there as soon as the gates open. Not only to be able to spend there as much time as possible but mainly because pandas are more lively in the morning. After they were fed, they like to play and wander around before they decide to take a nap.

Meditating ...

Eating ...          No comment ;)

Playing ...

The site is huge and basically a big park with settlements made for pandas. It is not a ZOO (as some of you might think). Animals have actually a lot of living space (I know it is still not like living in the wild nature…) and they seem to be taken care of very well. We spent hours just walking from one place to another reading all the information provided to us: evolution, diet, history, discovery, research work, conservation goal and so on.

Still eating ...          

We would stay even longer but it was time for us to go … We had to catch a plane to our next destination.

***

If you liked this article, do not miss the previous one:

Lost in Translation: Buddha is Great and I’m Not

Leave a Reply

