I.Wanna.Travel.The.World

My blog about travel adventures and a lot more.

Starting the Year With a Visit of Avignon

I bet that those who learnt French as a foreign language at school remember that there is a certain bridge in Avignon where people dance in circles… I know that thanks to a first French song that our teacher taught us and for many years, I was wondering how this famous bridge in a historical city of Popes looks like.

Source: http://www.avignon-tourisme.com/home-1-2.htmlSur le pont d’Avignon

L’on y danse, l’on y danse

Sur le pont d’Avignon

L’on y danse tous en rond

After my profound investigation, just joking, I found out that the bridge of Avignon is called “Pont Saint Bénezet” and to my huge deception it hasn’t been preserved in its whole beauty. Unfortunately, you can see only 4 arches (out of 22 original ones). The Rhône river is to be blamed for that. And there is nobody dancing on the bridge neither.

Apart from its most famous attraction, Avignon has a lot of other things to offer and I assure you that you will not be disappointed. I wasn’t. For example Papal Palace (UNESCO heritage since 1995) is a very special place to visit.

Avignon

And if you are looking for more exciting way to discover the city of Avignon, do it maybe during one of the main cultural events (a lot of people but the atmosphere is really different). Festival Off d’Avignon (performing arts) is the event in my agenda this year (from 08/07/2013 to 31/07/2013).

Tip: For nice picture, go to the other bank of the river (Villeneuve-des-Avignon) or the little island in the middle.

Click here to see all France related articles.

6 comments on “Starting the Year With a Visit of Avignon

  1. Laurence Madill
    January 24, 2013

    I love Avignon, I only spent a day there as I was dropped off waiting for a flight. I wrote a post about it with a few photos on my own blog. I managed to get to see the Pope’s Palace and the Pont Saint Bénezet but that was all I had time for; I’d love to go back there

    • Veronika
      January 24, 2013

      I completely understand why anybody would like to go back there, Avignon is a very charming city ♥ There are also other places nearby worth the visit: Orange, Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, Les Baux-de-Provence, Arles, Camargue, Martigues, Aix-en-Provence and so on. Anyway, the whole region is very nice…

  2. Laurence Madill
    February 10, 2013

    Arles is actually where we stayed when I went there. I we went down to Aigues-Mortes, Aix-en-Provence, and Nîmes

  3. Veronika
    February 17, 2013

    Great ! So I see that you had a glimpse of what the region has to offer 😉

  4. megtraveling
    April 22, 2013

    I learned that song in school too, and I’m going to Avignon next month!

    • Veronika
      June 10, 2013

      I have read your post and I am glad you had a great time 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 2, 2013 by in Europe and tagged , , , .
